What More Could a Girl Want?

Then – January 7, 1998

Yesterday evening, we decided that I’d go to New York, even before we had planned – this weekend!  I had several things to handle today to make it all go smoothly, but it all fell into place.  I feel bad leaving the cat again, but she’ll be okay.  I admit I’m a little nervous about seeing him.  I hope we feel the same for each other as we did at Christmas – if not more.  I love him so much, I can’t bear the thought of losing these feelings.

Now –

Ah the excitement.  What a wonderful time it was.  All those hormones and the expectations working their way into big decisions.  I sometimes wonder if arranged marriages might not work out better.  Perhaps in cases where the expectations are so low it ends up working out in the end.  Unfortunately the hormones and excitement of new love fade and we are left with the real person, perhaps not giving ourselves time to realize how that real person is before we are in too deep.

In my case the story was so romantic – a history together with our families, brought together at the holidays, swept off my feet to NYC.  What more could a girl want?

Leave a Reply

