Opposing Schedules

Then – April 16, 1998

I’ve been working now for almost an entire week.  So far it’s going well.  It’s going to keep me busy.  I really like learning something new and the people have all been very welcoming and supportive.  I’ve not gotten enough sleep lately, but I don’t feel deprived.  I do feel a little on edge, so I know I’m tired.  I think my excitement about work is keeping me going.  I’m going to get to bed early.  I have to be to work by 8am and he can get to work whenever he feels like it, unless he has an appointment.  He also works late.  I need to figure out a way to get enough rest.  I can’t have dinner at 10pm and be up at 6 am getting ready for work.

I miss him.  It feels like I haven’t seen him for two days.  Last night one of his old girlfriends came over so we didn’t have time to chat.  She is one of his girl friends from high school and again later in life.  I let the two of them go out to dinner together since she’s in town.  If they need to rekindle something, better to find out sooner than later.  Tonight he’s in the Connecticut office with his coworkers – so it will be tomorrow night before we get time together.  I’m looking forward to the weekend.  I need a good one.

Now  – To this day he’s the late nighter and I’m the early riser.  Someone had to get up early  with babies in the house, so that became my role.  As they get older he’s going to have to be the one to stay up late with them, if they need help with something.  I guess it’s good to have both shifts covered.  It’s great for the kids, but not so good for our relationship as a couple.  We spend maybe five hours in the bed together with one or the other of us asleep.  This makes it necessary to plan time for intimacy.  When you are not getting along all that great, there is not a lot of incentive to plan the time.

Leave a Reply

